Eli “Paperboy” Reed ‎– 99 Cent Dreams (Vinyl)


1 in stock

SKU: 634457264014 Category:


With the release of his new record, ‘99 Cent Dreams,’ Eli “Paperboy” Reed begins his second decade as an artist much in the same way he began his first: in love with soul music. Reed is ten years wiser this time around, writing with the kind of freewheeling confidence. The result is the finest of his career. Cut at the legendary Sam Phillips Recording in Memphis, TN, and produced by Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell, Margo Price), ‘99 Cent Dreams’ is exuberant, a celebration of life delivered by an ecstatic messenger. Reed’s arrangements on the album are lean, filtering vintage R&B, soul, and gospel through the heart of a modern songwriter. His stunning voice remains front and center but his performances have matured, a sign perhaps of the newfound perspective he’s gained with fatherhood. Fueled by love and hope, this is a collection that, despite its moments of loneliness and pain, ultimately insists on seeing the bigger picture, on recognizing each and every day for the gift that it is.

Yep Roc Records ‎– YEP-2640
Vinyl, LP, Album
12 Apr 2019
Funk / Soul
A1 News You Can Use
A2 Said He Would
A3 Bank Robber
A4 99 Cent Dreams
A5 Holiday
A6 Coulda Had This
B1 Trying
B2 Burn Me Up
B3 Lover’s Compensation
B4 In The End
B5 A New Song
B6 Couldn’t Find A Way