Gov’t Mule – The Tel-Star Sessions (Gatefold LP Jacket) (Vinyl)


1 in stock

SKU: 651751123014 Category:


The Tel-Star Sessions
(Gatefold LP Jacket)
Artist: Gov’t Mule

Format: LP
Release Date: 8/5/2016
LABEL: Evil Teen Records
UPC: 651751123014

Legendary rock torchbearers Gov’t Mule will release a new archival album entitled The Tel-Star Sessions on August 5, 2016 via Evil Teen Records. The LP consists of the band’s very first, and never-before-released, demos made in June 1994 at Tel-Star Studios in Bradenton, Florida. These newly mixed and mastered recordings feature the original line-up – Warren Haynes, Allen Woody and Matt Abts – and capture the rawness and excitement of the earliest days of Gov’t Mule. Consequence of Sound has premiered the first track from the album, the band’s version of ZZ Top’s “Just Got Paid” – PRESS HERE to listen. The song will be available as a digital single and instant grat track with the Mule. Net pre-order bundle available now and the album pre-order available on Friday, May 13th on iTunes, Apple Music and Amazon. What was originally intended to be the band’s debut album, but then subsequently shelved until now, these 10 songs will be available digitally and as a single CD, as well as 180-gram double-vinyl set including a limited edition version with different artwork and white vinyl. Collaborating with Allman Brothers sound engineer Bud Snyder, and taking legendary producer Tom Dowd’s advice to record all instruments simultaneously live in a room, Gov’t Mule holed up in Tel-Star Studios and sought to bring back the rock power trio and “dirty up” the bass guitar – a style that had been a marker of rock music prior to the ’80s.

1 Blind Man in the Dark
2 Rocking Horse
3 Monkey Hill
4 Mr. Big
5 The Same Thing
6 Mother Earth
7 Just Got Paid
8 Left Coast Groovies
9 World of Difference
10 Bonus Track: World of Difference (Alternate Version/Original Mix)